National Investment and Infrastructure Fund

Governing Council of NIIF is an advisory body - chaired by the Finance Minister. It shall comprise of government representatives, eminent economists, professionals from the Infrastructure Sector and representatives from the non-government contributors Currently the Governing Council consists of other distinguished persons such as Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs, Secretary, Department Financial Services, Smt. Arundhati Bhattacharya (Chairperson, State Bank of India), Shri Hemendra Kothari (Chairman, DSP BlackRock Investment Managers Pvt. Ltd.) and Shri T.V. Mohandas Pai (‎Chairman, Manipal Global Education Services).

The fund provisions for active government support to ensure rapid and smooth project execution due to effective coordination with relevant state and local authorities

Governing Council shall have following role:-

(a) To provide guidelines for Investment of Trust property/Corpus of NIIF

(b) To set parameters for appointment and performance of investment managers/ advisors

(c) Any other matter related or incidental thereto

• NIIF will have a management team comprising of one or more Chief Executive Officer and an investment team, consisting of investment, finance, legal, technical, infrastructure and other professionals

• NIIF would have full autonomy for project selection. NIIF would formulate guidelines and would follow due processes for selection criteria for AMCs and Non-Banking Financial Companies (NBFCs) / Financial Institutions (FIs).

• Investment Manager shall have an Investment Committee that shall comprise of professionals from the industry and may have representatives of the contributors